Subscribe Now

* You will receive the latest news and updates.

Trending News

11 Oct 2020

Blog Post

Consuming Of Seafood Halal Or Haram In Islam
Food

Consuming Of Seafood Halal Or Haram In Islam 

The consumption of seafood has always been a topic of discussion among Islamic scholars. There are two opinions on certain types of seafood. One, by the Hanafi school, is that it is impermissible (not all Seafood Halal just certain types), and the other. By the other schools, is permissible, based on the verses of the Quran. Again, it depends on what type of seafood you are referring to. But the majority opinion is that all more or less acceptable.

Test-Kit-The-Shoppies-Ad

According To Sunni Muslims

there are differences in each branch. Generally, all fish are accepted halal, but there are different ideas about squids and octopuses, lobsters and crabs or typically sea insects, oysters and mussels, frogs, and turtles, snails or locusts. Most view all seafood as acceptable. Some exclude squid. Others exclude many amphibians/reptiles (not that amphibians are typically eaten, so it is, for the most part, a non-issue).

From the non-mainstream, some hold similar views to Jews as to what constitutes a true fish. so, they would not, for example, eat prawns or scale-less fish. Shia is known not to eat Catfish, whereas the mainstream doesn’t see it as forbidden.

Every sea animal in the shape of fish is permitted to take. Every sea animal in the form of fish is allowed to take. According to the Hanafi sect, fishes such as carp, eel, Turbot, and flipper are allowed to consume. But, sea animals such as prawn, oysters, crab, lobster, Mussel, and crawfish do not consume. Additional sea animals that are not in fish form, such as walrus, pig, sea horse, etc. are not consumed. According to the other 3 schools of thought (Maliki, Hanbali., Shafi), all Seafood Halal is permitted to eat.

Seafood

According To Ulema

About Seafood Halal, ulema has a difference of opinion. The Hanafi school of thought believes that all animals that live and are born in water are unlawful to consume. Apart from fish and the reason for the following is because of the Hadith of Sunan Abu Dawood;

Hazrat Abdullah ibn Umar (R.A) reveals that the Prophet of Allah (s.a.w) said; “2 kinds of dead meat including two kinds of blood have been made right for our eating. The 2 dead kinds of meat are: locust and fish and 2 kinds of blood are spleen and liver.” (Sunan Abu Dawood)

However, other schools of thought have a difference of opinion. Imam Malik (r.a) thinks that all sea animals are halal apart from the eel; on the other hand, Imam Shafi (r.a) and Imam Ahmed Bin Hanbal (R.A) believe that all types of sea animals are halal and consumable.

Also Read: Happiness Diet: 17 Foods That Make You Happy And Make You Feel Better

Their Evidence is Based On The Quran Ayah; Allah (SWT) Has Said:

“The game of the sea and its eating has been made lawful for you.”

(Surah Maida verse 96)

According To Imam Abu Hanifa

All types of fish are consumable while the other imams differ. Regarding Imam Abu Hanifa’s opinion, one of the interpretations of the above ayat “game of the sea” could be referring specifically to fish in the ayat.

Apart from that, great ulema, like Mufti Taqi Usmani (D.b), mentions that there is no mention of the prophet s.a.w or the companions consuming any sea animals besides fish.

crab

According To the Hanafi

consuming the flesh of the creatures which are not in the form of fish is haram. Thus, animals that permanently live in the water may consume. Carp, Turbot, flipper, and eel are in this class. However, other sea creatures are not permitted. Oyster, lobster, Mussel, and crap are not allowed as satisfactory; they are considered haram.

While animals such as mussels, carp may have consumed in Maliki, Hanbali, and Shafi, they are not used according to the Hanafi sect. The Hanafi sect accepts them as haram because these classes of creatures are taken as dirty both regarding appearance and their flesh.

What Seafood Is Haram In Islam?

No seafood is haram except what has a negative effect on us and our body like the kind of fish that makes you hallucinate and acts like drugs and The Puffy fish for example, or I don’t know what it is called which is so poisonous, decomposed fish or the dead fish which was left for too long till it became corrupt and decomposed which is haram. It is famous in Egypt the with the name “Feesekh,” and many people die from it yearly in Easter, and last but not least, fish is eaten with its blood because Allah had prohibited the eating of the dead, blood and pork, but there is no pig fish so don’t worry about that part.

Is Octopus’s Haram Or Halal According to Islam?

When does the food become Seafood Halal? The food becomes halal that the animals that only eat vegetables and has no fangs like Goat, Cows, Chickens, Sardine, tuna, etc.

Eating dead animals before slaughtering the animal died before, chopping the animal’s wide neck without slitting the throat, eating those animals that have fang, and eats another animal is Haram in Islam.

So here it means Octopus eats fishes and other sea animals, so it is Haram. And also, Octopus has venom inside. It is also the same as Sharks that eat other sea creatures and has sharp teeth, also Haram.

Why is Crab Meat Considered Halal?

Unfortunately, Islam, today stands divided into several “madhabs” (sects) so that there are different views to further explanation of the halal or haram. However, the truth remains that the authority to declare halal and haram rests with Allah and none else.

Therefore, it is safe to go by the Quran according to which all types of meat that come from the sea and are fresh are Seafood Halal, including shrimps and crabs. However, such meat may be poisonous and medically unfit for consumption should be avoided because Islam does not approve of consuming what poisonous or a health hazard is.

It is called “Makru,” that is akin to harm, that means roughly, makru thing is if you have nothing else to eat. Which is halaal and to satiate your hunger and you are very hungry and desperate, then you are entitled to eat the item that is “Makru.” Another item, which is “Makru,” is crab.

Conclusion

Allah, in his Divine Wisdom, has made some seafood halal and others haram. Obeying Allah’s commands in halal and haram is a central part of a Muslim’s daily life. The majority of the scholars of Islam consider most seafood to be halal. So we should enjoy these blessings and show thanks and gratitude to Allah for providing nutritious seafood for us.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *